Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Together for Afghanistan: Approaches to Support Girls’ Education Initiatives

February 6 @ 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

Sunday, February 6 at 11am PST / 12pm MST / 2pm EST

The Ottawa Chapter of the Canadian Women for Women in Afghanistan is hosting a virtual event Sunday, February 6 at 2pm ET to explore ways to support women and girls in Afghanistan. Our guest speaker is the Canadian Women for Women in Afghanistan Executive Director, Dr. Lauryn Oates.

The Taliban victory propelled Afghanistan from humanitarian crisis to catastrophe, with millions of Afghans facing severe food insecurity due to lost income, cash shortages and rising food costs,” reported Human Rights watch. Women’s rights are severely curtailed, not being able to travel in public without a male guardian and schools for girls closed. As of February 6, secondary school ages girls will have been denied the right to education for 143 days.
Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/8938909938?pwd=UXpQclRsaERrK0RwWS80a2J0b2U1QT09

Meeting ID: 893 890 9938
Passcode: 3Kunwk
One tap mobile
+12042727920,,8938909938# Canada
+14388097799,,8938909938# Canada

Register here!

Details

Date:
February 6
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm