Breaking Bread 2021: Join Us

We invite you to participate in Breaking Bread 2021 by donating $100 toward a ticket which will give you full access to our June Virtual Program.

Date: Thursday, June 17, 2021

Time: 10:00 am MT (9 am PST / 12 pm EST) – Launch Start

4:30 pm MT (3:30 pm PST / 6:30 pm EST) – Cocktail hour with Guest Speaker, award-winning journalist and author Sally Armstrong

The Program: Keynote address by Sally Armstrong and our other contributors. Read more.

  • Journalist and documentary filmmaker Mellissa Fung,
  • Executive Director of CW4WAfghan Dr. Lauryn Oates
  • Senior Director Murwarid Ziayee
  • A yet-to-be-released documentary short showcasing women in leadership roles in Afghanistan
  • Music is a window into the culture of a country and our music downloads on offer will include
    • pianist Elham Fanoos 
    • Music by beloved Afghan singer Ahmad Zahir, known as the Voice of Afghanistan

How Can I Help?

As an individual:

1. Select the $100 donation box to gain access to our full program.

2. If you are a student, select the $25 box for the student discount.

As a group: 

Gather a group together virtually, or sponsor your employees: select the $500 box for up to 8 participants.

Prize Draw: Purchase raffle tickets to further support our programs. Prizes include gift certificates, gift baskets, art, pottery, candles, books and more.

Once you register for Breaking Bread 2021, you will be eligible for door prizes and receive a link to purchase raffle draw prize tickets.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Our Tradition Continues

Breaking Bread Events, with their unique and life-affirming combination of food, friends and fundraising, have formed a vital part of our grassroots support.

Building up to our June Virtual Program, throughout May, we encourage you to host a Breaking Bread virtual or safe in-person meal (as per Covid-19 guidelines), and to support you, we will be posting recipes and other teasers.

Since the first dinner in 2002 to our first year of virtual Breaking Bread events in 2020, more than 1,400 events have been successfully hosted. Through the support of Canadians, we have trained nearly 10,000 teachers in Afghanistan, equipped schools with 262 science labs and 294 library starter kits, and established 40 community libraries. We’ve been able to continue our work amidst the pandemic, while also taking on additional emergency actions to provide the extra support Afghan women and girls need.

Read more.

Library of Supporters

We would like to acknowledge your support by including all participants in our Supporters Library. If you prefer to remain anonymous, or would like us to list someone else, let us know.

Your Participation Makes a Difference

Women’s rights hang precariously in the balance during these uncertain times, and we are firmly committed to continuing our work to advocate for the women and girls of Afghanistan. We also want to reach out and offer sustenance to our wonderful network of supporters right across Canada! Whether you host a Breaking Bread get together virtually or in person with those in your bubble, you join our virtual program – or ideally you do both – we look forward to Breaking Bread with you as we celebrate women’s rights to education.

Marketplace: Purchase from these Local Businesses and Further Support Our Programs

Proceeds of Sales Go to CW4WAfghan
Instagram hennaby_Khani
20% of Tree of Life mug sales go to CW4WAfghan
Order a Copy
Support Local Businesses